TLT – Perfect fit

the girl and the clicker

Fashion repeats itself over the years. But I think some things from each decade should never come back, because they would look terrible on me. (Yes, this babbles are personal and selfish.) Looking back at fashion I found some decades would be good to me and others would be my nightmare.

La moda se repite con el paso de los años. Pero pienso algunas cosas de cada década nunca deberían volver, porque se verían terriblemente mal en mi. (Sí, estos balbuceos son personales y egoístas.) Al ver hacia atrás en la moda encontré algunas décadas que serían buenas conmigo y otras que serían mi pesadilla.

1920’s

Let’s start with the decade I would’ve dreaded the most to have lived in: the 20’s. So many dresses with that weird shape that doesn’t give a waist but would’ve made me look like a sack of potatoes. I have too much ass for that to look good on me.

Empecemos por la década en la que peor me hubiera ido: los 20’s. Tantos vestidos con esa forma rara que no te da una cintura pero que me hubiera hecho ver como un saco de papas. Tengo demasiado poto como para que eso se vea bien en mi.

70772ffce964e954f980a5e448730dd4

No, no, no, and no.

acff90ff39fb98e5ae86223d71f8883b

They had the dramatic makeup and hair pieces, I’ll give it that.
Tenían genial maquillaje y tocados, esos sí.

CHANEL - 1920s suit

This is from Channel by the way. Still no and no.
Esto es de Channel, ah. Igual no y no.

1910’s

But a few years back I think I would’ve been quite happy. In the 1910’s they had waists, long dresses and oh so pretty hats. Yes, take me there any time.

Pero algunos años atrás yo hubiera sido muy feliz. En los 1910’s tenían cinturas, vestidos largos y tan geniales vestidos. Sí, llévenme cuando quieran para allá.

6fee28316defa70d6ed30f8e0fbf21f3

So pretty it hurts.
Tan lindo que duele.

830ae5e4ea7d85cee479522b712f39cb
Where can I find that hat?!
¡¿Dónde consigo ese sombrero?!


          c646b4787c4e9f7b0d786a36434d87ec               d2803c1b81c1478e05e32eca2dccd5c2
Such grace. Give me that, please.
Tanta gracia. Quiero eso, por favor.

1930’s

The 30’s looked very glam buy, then again, that satin over my big behind would’ve not been a good idea.

Los 30’s se veían muy glamorosos pero, de nuevo, todo ese satín sobre mi gran trasero no se hubiera sido una buena idea.

97032185aaa4ad7f5a4bf581f0b5b5ad

1940’s

What to say about the 1940’s. I think they were the not so pretty sister of the 1950’s. Bad hair dos and too many collar dresses. Not for me.

Y qué decir de los 1940’s. Pienso fueron la hermana menos bonita de los 50’s. Feos peinados y demasiados vestidos con grandes collares. No gracias.

48e09b5728ee5404133781edc0672e6c

No words.
Sin palabras.


aa73868dfc2a2c9d7a1563e021a379d9

Still speechless.
Sigo sin palabras.

632fea9384b28222f2ac355b6a2842b2

Ok, she looks amazing. I could ignore her hairstyle.
Ok, ella se ve espectacular. Podría pasar por alto su peinado.

1950’s

Oh the 50’s, I like this decade. Welcome, pencil skirts and big puffy midi skirts. It’s the classier, fancier, nicer version of my favorite pieces in my wardrobe.

Oh, los 50’s. Me gusta esta década. Bienvenidas, faldas de lápiz y grandes y abombadas faldas midi. Es la versión más elegante, con clase y bonita que mis piezas favoritas de mi armario. 

495279cdf9f97f34dd73ef4e6a174867

I’ll pretend that’s faux fur.
Voy a pretender que eso es imitación de piel.

b736c442327841771ddebf419c8c602f

Ok, I know not even that skirt could give me that waist, but I can dream.
Ok, yo sé que ni esa falda podría darme una cintura así, pero puedo soñar.

Vogue, 1950s

There’s not a better way to run around the city than in that.
No hay mejor manera de correr por la ciudad que en eso.
Vogue, 1950’s.

Joanna McCormick, March Vogue 1957. Wearing a basket-weave wool dress with straight tunnel sleeves by Madame Grès.

Maybe if I close my eyes hard enough I’ll wake up being this gorgeous woman.
Tal vez si cierro los ojos lo suficientemente fuerte me despierte convertida en esta hermosa mujer.
Joanna McCormick, March Vogue, 1957.

1960’s

Ok, so a lot of people love the 60’s. I don’t. We go back to my problem with the 20’s, I need clothes that give me a waist, or at least don’t leave me looking like a table cloth. Yes, they had some pretty pattern, but just wait a few years and you’ll see what amazing patterns lie ahead.

Ok, a mucha gente le gustan los años 60’s. Pues a mi no. Volvemos a mi problema con los 20’s. Yo necesito ropa que me de una cintura, o al menos que no me deje viéndome como un mantel. Sí, tenían buenos estampados, pero solo esperen unos años más y verán los patrones geniales que están por venir.

Pop Art 1 From Mademoiselle, May 1966

Mademoiselle, May, 1966.

This style is back again. Used to be called a shift, now it's called a sheath. I see a lot of syles coming back again.

What?
¿Disculpa?

Twiggy

Twiggy, we know you can pull it off.
Twiggy, sabemos que tú puedes salirte con la tuya en ese vestido.

1970’s

Yes, the 70’s. Man, I think I would’ve been so happy in that decade. My messy long (I miss it) hair is perfect for it (so not a lot of maintenance, wuhu!), they have huge patterns but the type of dresses that would not burry me under shame. And just look at those pants! I have things like these (again, not as classy, fancy or nice as these but still!) in my closet, I thinks I could’ve pull it off.

Sí, los años 70’s. En serio pienso que yo hubiera sido feliz en esta década. Mi despeinado y largo (¡lo extraño!) cabello es perfecto para estos años (¡Así que hubiera necesitado muy poco mantenimiento, wuhu!), tenían grandes patrones but la clase de vestidos que no me hubieran enterrado en vergüenza. ¡Y solo miren esos pantalones! Tengo cosas como estas (de nuevo, no tan elegantes, con tanta clase y tan bonitos, ¡pero igual!) en mi armario, creo que me hubiera ido bien.

                   1970 - Vogue Italia    February 1974 - Paris Vogue

Photo by Richard Avedon, 1970     Models wearing dresses by Janice Wainwright at Simon Massey for Nova magazine, September 1970. Photo by Charlotte March.

Fashion photography by Patrick Bertrand, 1970s.

They have all the reason in the world to be that happy.
Tienen toda la razón en el mundo para estar así de felices.

264031f8b6f77b6901eae316ecd55c8a

The 20’s vibe with killer pants, this I can handle.
La vibra de los 20’s con esos espectaculares pantalones, esto lo puedo aceptar.

1975

Can I be your friend?
¿Puedo ser su amiga?

You can see I don’t go pass the 70’s. Well I know the 80’s and the 90’s too well, and I can see all that was wrong with them every time I open a family album, so I don’t even want to talk about them. I if I went further back this post would have been too long. (It already is, I’m sorry.)

Pueden ver que no paso de los 70’s. Pues conozco demasiado bien los 80’s y 90’s y puedo ver todo lo malo de esas décadas con solo abrir mis álbumes familiares, así que no quiero ni hablar de ellos. Y si iba más atrás este post hubiera sido demasiado largo. (Ya lo es tal como está, lo siento.)

                    925f5e17ef6429970cc68f988cbaeff0       4e0af87fe8a9fdfbddc28ee6f69a43be

In conclusion, as we say in spanish ‘de la moda lo que te acomoda’ which kind of translate as ‘from fashion what suits you’ (right?), at least that’s what I thought. So, I would die if I had to spend my days wearing 1920’s fashion, but would die for a day or two in the 50’s and the 70’s. Deborah Harry over Greta Garbo, sí. What about you?

En conclusión, como se dice por ahí ‘de la moda lo que te acomoda’, pienso yo. Así que me moriría si me tocara pasar mis días vestida como en los 20’s, pero moriría por un par de días en los años 50’s o 70’s. Deborah Harry sobre Greta Garbo, sí.  ¿Y ustedes?

2 comentarios en “TLT – Perfect fit

Responder

