TLT – Nothing to wear

the girl and the clicker

They say ‘I have nothing to wear’ is something every woman thinks when she opens her closet. (Or at least those who are into fashion.) First let me just say that I believe we need to be more responsible shoppers (I fight every day to be one.) and that we need to stop saying we ‘need’ those new pair of shoes or pants, because there are far more important things in life than to succumb to the impulse of buying another piece of clothing. And that’s what that cliché means, right? That we have so many things in our closets and still we believe we just don’t have enough variety for us to put a new outfit together.

Dicen que ‘no tengo qué ponerme’ es algo que todas las mujeres dicen cuando abren su closet. (O al menos todas a las que les gusta la moda.) Primero déjenme decir que creo que debemos ser compradores más responsables (yo peleo cada día para serlo.) y que debemos dejar de decir que ‘necesitamos’ ese par de zapatos o de pantalones, porque hay cosas mucho más importantes en esta vida que sucumbir al impulso de comprar más ropa. Y eso es lo que cliché significa, ¿no? Que tenemos tantas cosas en el closet y aún así creemos que no tenemos suficiente variedad como para armar un nuevo atuendo.

fd038b7263b76c80a1574ea92c995ba5

Well, but I do NEED her smile. (And her clothes. *sigh*)
Bueno, en realidad NECESITO su sonrisa. (Y su ropa. *suspiro*)

But I think in my case this cliché has a twist. I stand in front of my closet more time than I should, not because I’m obsessed with clothes and I need more and more and MORE, but because: 1. I’m lazy and sometimes I wished I could wear the same thing everyday.

Pero pienso que en mi caso el cliché tiene una vuelta. Yo me paro delante de mi closet más tiempo del que debería, no porque esté obsesionada con la ropa y piense que necesito más y más y MÁS, sino porque: 1. Soy muy floja y a veces desearía poder ponerme lo mismo todos los días.

6ab46dd072316a637ddac4543d461b9d

I wished I could look like this every day.
Desearía poder verme así todos los días.

2. I fall deeply in love with a piece of clothing and I wished I could wear it every day, so I end up wearing it more often than I should.

2. Me enamoro profundamente de una prenda nueva y desearía poder usarla todos los días, así que termino usándola más seguido de lo que debería.

0ef58bae604633d2bfbc091530271a38

I would wear this EVERY.DAY.
Usaría esto TODOS.LOS.DÍAS.

3. Sometimes here in Quito you really need to think about where you are going because things I would wear without even thinking about it in Europe could mean too much attention here, of the wrong kind. (Because here men act like idiots. I think I’ll write a post about that subject soon.)

3. A veces aquí en Quito es necesario pensar muy bien a dónde vas a ir porque algunas cosas que me pondría sin pensarlo dos veces en Europa podrían significar demasiada atención aquí, y de la mala. (Porque los hombres aquí actúan como idiotas. Creo que escribiré un post sobre ese tema pronto.)

d325c2d08db2d1ecbb2bb53dd61ce475

Too much sideboob for Quito.
Demasiado escote lateral para Quito.

4. I think I’ve found my ‘uniform’. This last point is the one I fight the most with. I don’t want to stop experimenting with fashion, I want to play, mix, make mistakes and do it all again!

4. Creo que he encontrado mi ‘uniforme’. Es con este último punto con el que más peleo. No quiero dejar de experimentar con la moda, quiero jugar, mezclar, equivocarme, ¡y hacerlo todo de nuevo!

bf2bac06d55510645a6016262a8746e7

She wears my uniform much much better than me.
Ella viste mi uniforme mucho mucho mejor que yo.

In conclusion, sometimes our closets are not small, it’s just our imagination that is having a rough day. So instead of going to a store near you, try on all those shirts that are on the bottom of the pile and all those pants that have been folded for years in your closet, it can be like having a whole new wardrobe! It has worked for me on those days when I’m not stuck on point number 1.

En conclusión, a veces nuestros closets no son demasiado pequeños, es solo que nuestra imaginación está teniendo un mal día. Entonces, en vez de ir a la tienda más cercana, por qué no nos probamos todas esas camisetas que están en la base de la pila y esos pantalones que han estado doblados por años, ¡puede ser como tener un un closet nuevo! Ha funcionado para mi en esos días cuando no estoy estancada en el punto 1.

d17d53d942bc271f9f5bcb7998ec4067

If only this was in the back of my closet.
Si tan solo esto estuviera metido en el fondo de mi closet.

Responder

