TLT – Summer, be good

0PORTADAok2

Self-portrait

It’s been two years since I last felt proper (horrible) summer weather. And, it turns out that I don’t like summer that much. Yes, I’ve said it. But let me explain myself, because I have very personal reasons for it not being my favorite season. Just because I love ranting, I’ll make a list:

Han pasado dos años desde que sentí el calor de un intenso verano. Y resulta que no me gusta demasiado el verano. Pues ahí tienen, lo he dicho. Pero déjenme elaborar porque tengo algunas razones muy personales para que esta no sea mi estación favorita. Como me gusta despotricar, aquí está mi lista:

463a1ccd0cfbcf0f9f6fbcfd8a81cf8d

Change the paint and put sweat, that’s summer in Madrid.

1. I walk everywhere (now that we are back in Madrid), and under this scorching weather one can only dream to not sweat like a pig. (Why do we say this? Pigs don’t even sweat that much. Anyway…) But so clothes end up sticking in random places. All of this because I not only walk, I walk FAST.

1. Camino a todo lado (ahora que estamos de vuelta en Madrid), y bajo este clima abrasador uno desearía no sudar como un cerdo. (Por qué decimos eso? Los cerdos ni siquiera sudan mucho. Volviendo al tema…) Pero la ropa termina pegándose en distintas partes del cuerpo. Todo esto porque yo no solo camino, sino que camino RÁPIDO.

b34d4c3537a1c200d19c8ab0d3505dbe

This is how I wear shorts. So, heat, you need to go.

2. I hate (HATE) feeling the skin of my legs touching each other. So you can deduce I don’t use lots of shorts (Skirts are less problematic, for reasons that escape logic.), but they are necessary during summer, so it’s quite a predicament. I also have to wear pajama pants when I sleep, otherwise I will have a terrible time trying to rest. I know, I’m weird, all of my friends think so too.

2. Odio (ODIO) sentir la piel de mis dos piernas tocándose. Así que pueden deducir que no uso muchos shorts (las faldas no son tan problemáticas, por razones que escapan la lógica), pero estos son necesarios para el verano, así que es realmente un inconveniente.

landscape-1458561634-elle-flatforms-getty.jpg

Aw, the perfect ugly shoes.

3. I have the knees of an elderly person which means I can’t wear flat shoes (I wear them when I know I won’t have to walk a lot). Now, I could tell you how long I’ve searched for a pair of sandals with platforms (‘Flatforms’, some may call them.) that look good, will endure my speed walking and don’t cost a fortune, but I’ll just say that my golden straps sandals (yes, the ones you see on every photo of myself) don’t have friends yet.

3. Tengo las rodillas de una persona mayor y eso significa que no puedo usar zapatos planos y bajos (los uso cuando sé que no voy a caminar mucho). Ahora, podría contarles cuánto tiempo he pasado buscando un par de sandalias con plataforma (algunos suelen llamarlas ‘flatforms’) que se vean bien, que soporten mi velocidad de marcha y que no cuesten una fortuna, pero solo diré que mis sandalias de tiras doradas (sí, esas que salen en todas las fotos) no tienen amigas todavía.

24a6201ecd2720e6efadce2eaeac0c52

The ‘summer clothes’ I brought from Ecuador feel like this.

4. Turns out my clothes, that I thought were summer worthy, are not. (I thought my faux leather skirts were going to be ‘alright’ just because they are a skirts. HA!) And now I have to come up with better combinations in order to not die from dehydration. But in this weather my brain doesn’t cooperate much and I find myself leaving my house looking as if I’m wearing the same thing every day. (I swear I wash my clothes and I also have two of the same or similar t-shirts.)

4. Resulta que la ropa que yo pensaba que era adecuada para el verano, no lo es. (Pensaba que mis faldas de cuerina estarían ‘bien’ solo por ser faldas. JA!) Y ahora tengo que inventarme nuevas y mejores combinaciones para no morir por deshidratación. Pero en este clima mi cerebro no coopera mucho y termino saliendo de la casa vestida casi todos los días igual. (Juro que lavo mi ropa. Además, tengo dos de las mismas camisetas o varias parecidas.)

I want THIS! Give me design please!

5. I love wearing all black outfits, and I also love white. But when I went to find some great pieces in these two shades I found that, for my own misery, two things are true: 1. Turns out black is not a favorite for summer, so not a lot of options to pick from, other than plain long dresses (not often flattering on myself) and t-shirts. The lack of design saddens me. 2. Most white pants are so see-through that I may as well be walking in my underwear.

5. Amo vestir toda de negro, y también amo el blanco. Pero cuando salí en busca de piezas geniales en estos tonos descubrí, para mi horror, que dos cosas son verdad: 1. Resulta que el negro no es un favorito para el verano, así que no hay demasiadas opciones de dónde elegir, aparte de vestidos largos sencillos (que no me sientan demasiado bien) y camisetas simples. La falta de diseño me entristece. 2. La mayoría de los pantalones blancos son tan transparentes que daría lo mismo si salgo directamente en ropa interior.

My head during summer.

6. I have really bad headaches (apart from migraines) and this weather just makes the situation worse. This is not fashion related but it connects with 4. because it’s part of the reason why my brain just doesn’t care to follow orders.

6. Tengo muchos dolores de cabeza (aparte de migrañas) y este clima empeora todo. Este punto no se relaciones con la moda pero sí conecta con el punto 4. porque es parte de la razón por la que mi cerebro no quiere seguir órdenes.

71735677b6b7c0c5ae60e5efb550805f

It’s all in the fabrics you use.

7. Black is not a favorite for summer?! (Not surprised at all, just being sarcastic.) Yes, I said that already, but it deserves its own number. Just because the weather changes doesn’t mean your taste does too. I love black all year round. ❤

7. El negro no es un favorito para el verano?! (No me sorprende, solo estoy siendo sarcástica.) Sí, ya lo dije, pero merece su propio punto. Solo porque el clima cambia no significa que nuestros gustos cambian también. Yo amo el negro todo el año. ❤

I’m a couple of bucks short for the Balenciaga and the other look. Oh well…

8. I don’t like pastels, I don’t like ‘the festival look’ (HATE IT actually), don’t like ‘shy’ flowers (tiny, all the same, boring flowers). I like bold, I’M SATURATED AS HELL, patterns, but all I find are hippie like, 90’s vibe (the bad kind), all the same, boring clothes.

8. No me gustan los pasteles, no me gusta el ‘look de festival’ (LO ODIO en realidad), no me gustan las flores ‘tímidas’ (flores pequeñas, todas iguales, aburridas). Me gustan los estampados atrevidos, saturados, llamativos, pero todo lo que encuentro son cosas “hippies”, con flashbacks a los 90’s (de mala manera), y diseños que se ven todos igual.

9. We are not at the beach. I would be writing a different post if I was feeling this hot weather at a beach somewhere. I would be writing about how I love wearing flip flops all day. But no, in Madrid, the closest you get to the beach are the fountains, the river or the pools, and that is not close enough! (Not fashion related but IMPORTANT.)

9. No estamos en la playa. Estaría escribiendo una publicación totalmente distinta si sintiera estos 30 y tantos grados en la playa. Estaría escribiendo sobre cómo amo usar sandalias todo el día. Pero no, en Madrid lo más cercano a la playa son las fuentes, el río o las piscinas, y eso no es lo suficientemente cerca! (Tampoco está relacionado a la moda pero es MUY IMPORTANTE.)

5889c5c208c11920044b21cebab6ae77

You are not using it properly!

10. And, last but not least, I don’t like tan lines. So the first few days I bathed myself in sunblock. Put 1. and 2. together and you get a horrible mess. So, my strategy now? I walk as fast as I can between shadow and shadow.

10. Y por último, odio las líneas de bronceado. Así que los primeros días me bañaba en protector solar. Junten el punto 1. y el punto 2. y les da como resultado un horrible desastre. Así que cuál es mi estrategia ahora? Caminar lo más rápido que puedo entre sombra y sombra.

But I now know that the way I can beat summer at its torrid game is to stop whining (as much). So, this is what I’m going to do:

Pero ahora sé que la forma de vencer al verano en su tórrido juego es el dejar de quejarme (tanto). Así que esto es lo que haré:

– I’ll wear as much black as possible (Maybe my black clothes will desintegrate by the end of August.), but I won’t give summer the satisfation of controlling my choice of clothes.

– Usaré todo el negro que quiera (Tal vez mi ropa negra se desintegre al final de agosto.), pero no le daré al verano la satisfacción de poder controlar mi elección de ropa.

– I’ll give thanks every time I step into a store. (There is air conditioning there, I only have two fans.)

– Daré las gracias cada vez que entre a una tienda. (Ahí tienen aire acondicionado, yo solo tengo dos ventiladores.)

– Hey, maybe by the end of summer I’ll be the master of putting outfits together with a limited amount of clothes. Because I don’t want to buy more clothes (One here and there is okay, though. -I like to tell myself-), I want to work with what I have!

– Hey, tal vez para cuando se termine el verano seré un experta en crear atuendos con una cantidad limitada de ropa. Porque no quiero comprar más cosas (Algo aquí y allá está bien.- Me gusta decirme a mi misma-), quiero trabajar con lo que tengo!

So, am I too weird that no one can relate to my list? =( I sure hope not!

Entonces, soy tan rara que nadie se siente identificado con mi lista? =( Espero que no!

2 comentarios en “TLT – Summer, be good

Responder

